Menu Home

Related organisations and websites

A Selection of relevant national and local organisations

National

Brewery History Society   www.breweryhistory.com

British Agricultural History Society and Review   www.bahs.org.uk

British Hops    www.britishhops.org.uk/

British Library

Dude and Arnette cowl manufacturer. www.dudeandarnette.co.uk

English Heritage   www.english-heritage.org.uk

Forum Heritage Services Consultancy. Wimborne

Geograph  http://www.geograph.org.uk/article/Oast-Houses

Historic Farm Buildings Group   www.hfbg.org.uk

Historic England    www.historicengland.org.uk

National Trust  www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Museum of English Rural Life    www.reading.ac.uk/merl

National Brewing Library. Oxford Brooks University

National Archives,  Kew

Oasthouses.co.uk website for buying and selling oast houses

Vernacular Architecture Group   www.vag.org.uk

Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oast_house

 

South East

County Archives Service: Kent History and Library Centre, Maidstone; East Sussex Records Office, Brighton; Surrey History Centre, Woking; Hampshire Records Office, Winchester.

Agricultural Museum Brook     www.agriculturalmuseumbroook.org.uk

Beltring  Hop Farm Family Park Paddock Wood,   www.thehopfarm.co.uk

Brattle Farm Museum  Staplehurst

Canterbury Archaeological Trust    www.canterburytrust.co.uk

Cranbrook Museum    www.cranbrookmuseum.org/

Farnham Museum and Library           www.farnhammaltings.com/museum

Great Dixter, Northiam   www.greatdixter.co.uk

Hampshire County Council.   www3.hants.gov.uk/historic_farm_buildings

Kent Archaeological Society  www.kentarchaeology.org.uk

Kent Archives, Maidstone.  www.kentarchives.org.uk/

Kent Downs AONB     www.kentdowns.org.uk

Kent Life.  Maidstone  www.kentlife.org.uk

Marden History Society  www.mardenhistory.org.uk

Maidstone Museum    www.museum.maidstone.gov.uk

Natural England, Worcester   https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/natural-england

Rural Life Museum, Tilford, Surrey.   www.rural-life.org.uk

Shepherd Neame, Faversham     www.shepherdneame.co.uk

Sissinghurst Castle. National Trust: http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/sissinghurst-castle-garden

Tenterden Museum    www.tenterdeenmuseum.co.uk

Time Travel -Britain-com. Oasts of Kent. Richard  Crowhurst  http://www.timetravel-britain.com/articles/country/oasts

Weald of Kent Preservation Society   www.wkps.org.uk  .

Wealden Buildings Study Group     www.wealdenbuildings.org.uk

West Midlands

County Archive Services: Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service; Hereford Archives and Records.

Bromyard History Society   www.bromyardhistorysociety.org.uk

Hopshires. Cooperative of growers.   www.thehopshires.co.uk

The Hop Pocket Centre, Bishop Frome

 

Many larger villages have local societies which focus on the history and buildings of their parish. They are an important source of information and contacts. Relevant examples include The Malling Society. www.mallingsociety.org.uk, Marden  www.mardenhistory.org.uk